POSTPONED - Torbay Symphony Orchestra In Concert Event Information page

POSTPONED - Torbay Symphony Orchestra In Concert

Event details

  • Event times:
    • Start : 7.30pm
14th March

We have been informed by Torbay Symphony Orchestra late on Friday evening that they will be postponing their concert on Saturday. 

The Box Office team will be contacting customers on Saturday.


The programme from Torbay Symphony Orchestra promises a feast of exhilarating music!
Sam Richards (b. 1949) – Planetarium (2019) – world premiere
Stravinsky (1882 – 1971) - Petrushka (1910-11 revised 1946)
Tchaikovsky (1840 – 1893) - Symphony No 5 in E minor Opus
64 (1888)

The programme promises a feast of exhilarating music!


Sam Richards (b. 1949) – Planetarium (2019) – world premiere

Sam studied composition, improvisation and piano with Alfred Nieman at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. He also played in performances of experimental works by Cornelius Cardew - alongside Cardew and others - and received tuition from folk artists Peggy Seeger and Ewan MacColl.


His music generally focuses on various concerns: fixed and free musical ideas, the passage of time and relationships between vernacular and experimental languages. He is a free improviser, poet and jazz pianist. He and his wife, composer, pianist and teacher Lona Kozik, run the Totnes School of Piano.


Sam is also the author of five published books about music and one detailing the story of Dartington College of Arts. 

Of this new work Sam says: “Planetarium (written for the Torbay Symphony Orchestra) evokes the expanses of space and time of our solar system and the major and minor planets. On one quite literal level, it can be taken as a trip from the Sun outwards to the distant edge of our solar system. All the major planets and some minor planets are included in this trip. However, it is not necessary to tick off each planet as we pass. More to the point is the evocation of space, time and wonder at the cosmos, the life we're all part of - and the further out we go the more there are huge stretches of emptiness. The idea came to me as an assignment suggested to a composition student of mine. He has created his own version, totally different from Planetarium. I wanted to do my own. Like many people I have always been fascinated by astronomy, although in terms of mind-bending dimensions the solar system is all my mind is capable of even partway grasping!”

Stravinsky (1882 – 1971) - Petrushka (1910-11 revised 1946)


Petrushka was written for Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes and premiered in Paris on 13th June 1911 with Nijinsky in the title role. It tells the story of the loves and jealousies of three puppets, brought to life by the Charlatan during the 1830 Shrovetide Fair in St Petersburg. Petrushka (the Russian equivalent of Punch) loves the Ballerina but she rejects him, preferring the Moor. Petrushka is angry and hurt and challenges the Moor who kills him with his scimitar. As night falls Petrushka’s ghost rises above the puppet theatre. He shakes his fist at the Charlatan then collapses in a second death.


Petrushka brought music, dance and design together in a unified whole and when performed as a ballet generally still uses the original design and choreography.


Stravinsky wrote: “In composing the music I had in my mind a distinct picture of a puppet, suddenly endowed with life, trying the patience of the orchestra with diabolical cascades of arpeggios. The orchestra in turn retaliates with menacing trumpet blasts.” The work is characterised by the so-called Petrushka chord (C major and F# major triads played together) heralding the appearance of the main character.


The 1946 version was scored for fewer instruments and, separately, Stravinsky created a suite for concert performance – an almost complete version of the ballet but cutting the last three sections.


Tchaikovsky (1840 – 1893) - Symphony No 5 in E minor Opus 64 (1888)


Tchaikovsky composed this symphony in just four months, from May to August 1888. It was premiered in St Petersburg on 17th November 1888. Tchaikovsky’s notes suggest that it represents “a complete resignation before fate”. Its main theme, popularly called the “Fate theme”, appears in all four movements, progressing from something quite funereal in character in the first movement to a triumphant march in the final movement. The symphony became very popular during WWII as it was felt to represent “ultimate victory through strife”. The Leningrad Symphony Orchestra played it on the night of 20th October 1941 during the siege of the city. Bombs could be heard falling in the background as it was broadcast live to London.


Presented by South Devon Singers as part of Teignmouth Classical Music Festival

Tickets: £16.00, £14.00, Child £5.00


We’re currently having issues with our confirmation emails being sent out. 

Please take a note of your booking reference which will be given once payment has been taken.

If you’d would like to check any bookings please do send us an email or give us a call and we can confirm any bookings.


Tel - 01626 249049 (10am - 3pm)

Email -

Image Gallery – click to view the larger version

Keep in touch

Sign up to our newsletter to receive all the latest updates Go